2007 Library News

New Library Commission Member Announced

Judy Smith has been appointed by the city of The Village to replace Metropolitan Library System Commissioner Peggy Winters.  Ms. Smith is a long time member of the Friends of the Village Library and worked on the creation of the new library in that city.

Smith replaces retired Commissioner Peggy Winters, who was appointed to the commission by The Village City Council in 1997.  Commissioners serve three year terms at the pleasure of the city or entity that appointed them.

“We congratulate Peggy as she ends her service to the commission and the library,” said Donna Morris, MLS Executive Director.  “She has always stood up for her beliefs and has been an outstanding commission member and representative of the library.  We wish her well in the future.”

Commissioner Smith is an enthusiastic supporter of public libraries.  “The more I learn about the Metropolitan Library System,” she said, “the more I am aware of its importance to the community.  I want to be involved in the growth and impact of the Library System.  I strongly believe in the importance of books and reading, especially for children, and want to encourage a love of reading any way I can.”

“We’re all looking forward to working with Judy,” Morris added.  “We always anticipate new ideas when commission members change, and I know Judy has lot to bring to her new role as commission member.” 

The Metropolitan Library Commission meets in open session the third Thursday of each month at a different library.

The Metropolitan Library System of Oklahoma County includes 12 libraries and five extension libraries.  Libraries include Belle Isle, Capitol Hill, Ralph Ellison, Ronald J. Norick Downtown Library and Southern Oaks in Oklahoma City, as well as Bethany, Choctaw, Del City, Edmond, Midwest City, Village and Warr Acres.  Extensions are located in the communities of Harrah, Jones, Luther and Nicoma Park and include Wright Library in Oklahoma City.  You can also reach us at www.metrolibrary.org