2008 Library News Bookmark and ShareShare/Bookmark Tell a Friend

Library Commission Re-Elects Officers

The Metropolitan Library System commissioners re-elected its standing officers for another term at its last meeting on January 17, 2008. Re-elected were Mr. Hugh Rice- Chair, Dr. Ann Caine-Vice Chair, and Mr. David Greenwell-Disbursing Agent.  The MLS Commission serves as the oversight and governing board for the county-wide system and is composed of 27 voting members representing Oklahoma City, Bethany, Choctaw, Del City, Edmond, Midwest City, The Village and Warr Acres, as well as Ex-Officio members Mick Cornett and County Commissioner Ray Vaughn. 

Hugh Rice, who has been a member of the Commission since 1992, was re-elected to his fourth term as chair. “I am pleased to be returning as chair of the library commission,” Rice said.  “Our public library contributes a lot to the education and entertainment of the citizens of Oklahoma County, and I’m proud to be a part of that.”

MLS’ executive director, Donna Morris, who is also the commission’s non-voting secretary, was pleased that such an outstanding slate of officers was re-elected.

“Each year brings new challenges to your Metropolitan Library System, and 2008 will be no exception.  From working on plans for expanding the system to maintaining our position as a state leader in library technology, and we couldn’t have finer people to lead us than Hugh Rice, vice-chair Dr. Ann Caine, and disbursing officer David Greenwell, “ Morris said.

The other members of the Metropolitan Library Commission include Mrs. Nancy Anthony, Mr. Ralph Bullard, Ms. Glenda Choate, Mrs. Carolyn Cornelius, Ms. Fran Cory, Ms. Margaret Graham, Mrs. Deanna Hannah, Mr. Jose Jimenez, Mr. Lee Alan Leslie, Mrs. Penny McCaleb, Mr. Tracy McDaniel, Ms. Tracy McGehee, Ms. Lori Nelson, Dr. Mukesh Patel, Ms. Kim Patterson, Ms. Marguerite Ross, Mr. Jim Shonts, Ms. Judy Smith, Ms. Alyne Strube, Ms. Beth Toland, Ms. Alexandra Vera, and Mr. Greg Womack.

The Metropolitan Library System of Oklahoma County includes 12 libraries and five extension libraries.  Branch libraries include Belle Isle, Capitol Hill, Downtown, Ralph Ellison & Southern Oaks in Oklahoma City, as well as Bethany, Choctaw, Del City, Edmond, Midwest City, The Village and Warr Acres libraries.  Extensions are located in the communities of Harrah, Jones, Luther, Nicoma Park, and the Wright library in Oklahoma City