2008 Library News Bookmark and ShareShare/Bookmark Tell a Friend

Penny McCaleb Re-Appointed To Library Commission

Penny McCalebLong-time Metropolitan Library System Commission member Penny McCaleb has been re-appointed for another three-year term, library officials announced today.

Ms. McCaleb, who was first appointed to the Commission by Oklahoma City mayor Patience Latting in 1982 to represent Oklahoma city, is a six-term chair of the Commission, the chair of the Commission’s Long Range Planning committee, a member of the Library Retirement Pension Board, and has been the Commission’s liaison to the Library Endowment Trust since 1990. 

 “The Metropolitan Library Commission is comprised of very intelligent, educated, and diverse individuals with a variety of skills,” McCaleb said.  “I feel so fortunate to work with such a talented commission.”

“The commission and the library system have been very fortunate to have Penny's outstanding leadership over the years,” said MLS Executive Director Donna Morris.  “She has been a steady, constant and articulate voice in commission and committee meetings during this time.  We value her commitment, dedication and passion for providing outstanding library service to this community.”

McCaleb is also on the Oklahoma City Museum of Art Board of Directors, and is a member of the Oklahoma City Philharmonic Foundation, Inc.  In addition to these organizations, McCaleb is a member and Past President of the Oklahoma Children’s Health Foundation 

The Metropolitan Library System of Oklahoma County includes 12 libraries and five extension libraries.  Libraries include Belle Isle, Capitol Hill, Ralph Ellison, Ronald J. Norick Downtown Library and Southern Oaks in Oklahoma City, as well as Bethany, Choctaw, Del City, Edmond, Midwest City, Village and Warr Acres.  Extensions are located in the communities of Harrah, Jones, Luther and Nicoma Park and include Wright Library in Oklahoma City.  You can also reach us at www.metrolibrary.org